No tags yet.

All the Way From Western PA


Hello. My name is Alexa Strong and I was born and raised in Indiana, Pa right next to IUP, and here is a bit of who I am and how I came to work at UMI. Throughout my childhood my Dad would take me to the golf course with him. He would let me play in bunkers while he worked on his game. When I was a bit older, he would drop a ball and give me a certain number of strokes to get into the hole for chocolate cake. I always won, and the chocolate cake got fancier each time. As the years grew, people noticed my golf skills improving; and I came to fall in love with this crazy game called golf.

I joined the high school team as an assistant in 8th grade, just a way to practice with the team early, and was a four-year starter ever since 9th grade. Fast forwarding a bit, my high school golf coach went to Millersville University and kept telling the coach at MU about my golfing abilities and my desire to play golf in college. After one campus tour I was hooked. After all, it was amazing to be 5 minutes from a shopping mall, yet 5 minutes from corn fields, farmers markets, and the beautiful eastern countryside. I played on the golf team for Millersville University for 4 years, majored in Public Relations and minored in Marketing, as well as recreationally was on the fencing team. Golf allowed me to meet many wonderful people from other schools as well as travel to many different places--one being Pinehurst, North Carolina for our spring break trip. Fencing was a true hobby and allowed me the ability to try something a bit faster in pace which was the exact opposite of golf.

After graduation I knew I had to come home, but my heart never truly left Eastern Pa. When looking on LinkedIn a few months after graduation, I found a job for a digital media buyer, did some research, and applied. After almost a year on the job, experience has been wonderful! I have been warmly welcomed into a great company with wonderfully nice people and have learned a lot.

Now that I live on my own, during the week, in the summer, I play in 2 ladies golf leagues and a Thursday night men’s league at Liberty Forge, my home course. On the weekends I am usually with my boyfriend who I am teaching to golf, golfing with my Dad, or traveling to either Lancaster, Indiana, Chambersburg, Columbia, Maryland, or wherever else life takes me. Starting in September-mid March I still play golf, weather pending, but am also a level 2 hockey referee. I am half Canadian (Mom’s from Winnipeg, Manitoba) and after playing three years on a team during high school decided to be a hockey referee like my father. In the future I hope to be at this company for many more years, as well as, take my dream vacation to Japan with my boyfriend and his sister, and take my dream vacation to Saint Andrews golf course with my Dad.


Universal Media Inc. is a recognized Google Premier Partner 

ADDRESS:

Universal Media Inc.

4999 Louise Drive, Suite #303

Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

CONTACT:

P: (717) 795 - 7990

F: (717) 795 - 7998

INFO@UMIUSA.COM

© 2018 Universal Media Inc. All Rights Reserved.